
   
 

  

POLICE MEDIA ADVISORY 
 
Date:  06/27/2024  
To:  San Diego Media 
From:  Chula Vista Police Department 
Contact: Sergeant Anthony Molina 
Phone: (619) 691-511 
Email:  pio@chulavistapd.org 
Subject: CVPD and ABC Conduct Minor Decoy Operation Resulting in No Citations  
 

Message: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  

The Chula Vista Police Department, along with agents of the California Department of 
Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC), cited zero clerks for selling alcohol to minors on June 25, 
2024. These were the results of a Minor Decoy operation in which minors, under the direct 
supervision of department agents, attempted to purchase alcohol from 10 retail licensees in 
Chula Vista.   
 
Clerks who sell to a minor face a minimum fine of $250, and 24 to 32 hours of community 
service for a first violation. In addition, ABC may take administrative action against the 
alcoholic beverage license of the business where alcohol was sold to a minor. That may 
include a fine, suspension, or the permanent revocation of the license. 
 
“Selling alcohol to minors isn’t just breaking the law. It’s a concern for our community,” said 
Chief of Police Roxana Kennedy. “Operations like these send a message that selling alcohol 
to anyone underage will not be tolerated.” 
 
“Businesses should always check IDs before selling alcohol,” said ABC Director Eric Hirata. 
“Preventing access to people not old enough to legally purchase alcohol improves safety on 
our roadways and in our communities.” 
 
Statistics have shown that young people under the age of 21 have a much higher risk of 
being involved in a crash than older drivers. About 25 percent of fatal crashes involve 
underage drinking according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 
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Minor Decoy operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the state 
since the 1980s. When the program first began, the violation rate of retail establishments 
selling to minors was as high as 40 to 50 percent. When conducted on a routine basis, the 
rate has dropped to below 10 percent in some cities. In 1994, the California Supreme Court 
ruled unanimously that use of minor decoys is a valid legal tool of law enforcement to make 
sure that licensees are complying with the law.   
 
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from ABC through the department’s Alcohol 
Policing Partnership (APP) program. 
 

### 
 

About the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) is an agency of the government of the 
state of California charged with the regulation of alcoholic beverages. ABC’s mission is to 
provide the highest level of service and public safety to the people of California through 
licensing, education, and enforcement. ABC is a department of the Business, Consumer 
Services, and Housing Agency.  
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